Tyler, Texas, USA

BK and I were in Texas last week. It wasn’t a vacation, but the climate was a nice change from what we were used to. Here are some pictures, to give you an idea of the differences.

Image
Our house, before we left
Image
Wow. Green shrubbery!

Went for a walk the next day, along Mud Creek.

Image
Juniper

Juniper grows in Illinois, too, but not like this. Made me want to find a bathtub and start making gin.

Image
Pansies

I grow pansies in cool weather, too. These Texas pansies look just like the ones in front of my house, only they aren’t covered by 2 feet of snow.

Image
Daffodil

My daffodils will look like this in 6 weeks. If I’m lucky.

Image
Chicago, viewed from the plane as we returned
Image
Home again

Supposedly while we were gone, temperatures rose to the 40s, with torrential rain. We thought we’d come back to less snow than this. Still, it was nice to sleep in our own bed again.

Leave a comment