Rainbows on the Brain

Dutch and I went to Hawaii at the tail end of Pride Month. As part of the celebration, I bought a new rainbow band for my watch. I’ve wanted one for a couple of years (that’s another anecdote in itself), and finally successfully scored one this year.

Good timing. My cousin and his long-time boyfriend got hitched sometime during the COVID hiatus, but we were all finally able to celebrate together this year on their home island of Oahu.

I kept seeing rainbows, both before and after the wedding. I thought, given the occasion, that maybe I was just noticing them more than usual or something.

That’s not it, though. Hawaii is officially the best place on earth to see rainbows, according to science. Just ask Smithsonian Magazine.

Maybe that’s why “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” is such a popular ukulele number! Here’s a link to my current favorite (ukulele) version because you should get to hear it, especially if it’s been a while.

Dutch and I visited three islands during our Hawaii visit and saw a lot of rainbows. I’ll just treat you to one per island here:

Waikiki Rainbow – Oahu
Rainbow over Maui Seaside Hotel
Over Kīlauea Crater on the Big Island

Aaand you don’t escape my vacation photos that easily! More of my Hawaii pictures are on the way.

A hui hou*

*Until we meet again

Leave a comment