Brandon Sanderson

Cookie_Sanderson
Cookie and Brandon

Yesterday was one of those days when a blog post just wasn’t going to happen, but I have a good excuse! Cookie and I went to a Brandon Sanderson book signing at Anderson’s Bookshop in Naperville. Firefight, the second book in his Reckoners series just came out.

Sanderson_Book
Here’s the copy he signed for me

For Catherine, Calzone stuffed with dynamite. That’s how he signed it, I kid you not. I have a feeling this signature was an arbitrary choice on his part, but in case it wasn’t, I’m choosing to take it as a compliment. Why? Because it’s just cryptic enough that I can!

In a future post I will share the invaluable writing advice he imparted to me. Consider that your teaser!

3 thoughts on “Brandon Sanderson

  1. Sparrow_hawk

    It was a lovely evening – chocolate, coffee and books!

    I had two books signed. Steelheart got “Sparks!” and Firefight got “Potato in a minefield.” I wasn’t sure how I felt about the second one, but upon reflection decided it was positive and could be used to describe a person who led a charmed life : “If anyone could walk into a minefield empty-handed and walk out the other side holding a potato, it’s Eileen.”

    Or perhaps as a description of foolhardiness (and a charmed life – I’m sticking with that one):
    “You want me to tell you about Eileen? Last week when it was her turn to forage, she went digging for potatoes in the minefield.” *pause* “And she came back with a sack full of ’em.”

    Yes, I over-analyze things.

    Reply
  2. brennancm Post author

    Sparrowhawk- I found out later (from Brian who clued us into the event) that:
    “One of the hallmarks of the protagonist of the Reckoners series is his comically bad metaphors, which usually draws stunned and/or awkward silence from his compatriots. Potato in a minefield was a standout (out of many) that came out of Firefight.”
    So now we know, though I do enjoy your explanation a lot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

