This Meeting Is Now Called To Order

There are 4 items on the agenda.

1. An announcement: I am a space bird!

Image
Space Bird

Okay, even for regular followers of this blog, that may be a touch cryptic. As a quick explanation, let me offer the following:

I like a web site called 750words.com. There are many different ways to help maintain a writing habit. 750words.com is one that I use, and one reason I like it is for the virtual bling. For various milestones, you achieve badges. The longest writing streak they honor is 500 days. For that accomplishment, they award the coveted Space Bird badge.

I got it on Saturday. Here’s a screen shot from the email announcing my accomplishment:

Image

So. That’s out of the way.

2. The first item on the agenda leads more or less directly to the second: My next big writing milestone (at least the next one that’s quantifiable and under my direct control) is writing a million verifiable words. 750words has no badge for that, but I think it’s pretty impressive. I should be accomplishing that late in July. My Million Word Party will probably be one of the first 2 Saturdays in August, and you’re all invited. Contact me if you’re interested in attending and I’ll let you know when a time/date is chosen.

3. It has come to my attention that at least one of the regular readers of this blog finds all this writing *about* writing rather dull. This person (Hi, Cris!) has said something along the lines of: “Why can’t we see some of your actual fiction? Maybe you could offer a story in installments, like Dickens.”

I’m mulling it over. It would be a lot of work, but on the other hand, it would give me something new to write while I try to get my novel in good enough shape to show beta readers. A bit of a palate cleanser, if you will.  There’s only so much editing you can do before you want to tear your hair out. So, a show of hands: who would like to see a story in installments on this blog? If so, what kind of story do you want to see, or should I surprise you?

There are links to a couple of my stories available here and here, if you get tired of waiting.

4. I have a new short story I plan to start submitting to markets tomorrow. I’ll let you know how that goes.

Okay, back to novel revision. As you were.

6 thoughts on “This Meeting Is Now Called To Order

  1. Cris

    Yeah installments! In fact I don’t think your writing is dull it is just so good that I am betting that reading more of it would be a lot of fun! 😉

    Reply
    1. brennancm Post author

      I know, Cris, I was kind of pulling your chain. Trying to get my head around how I’d manage it, because it’s an interesting idea.

      Reply
  2. whitey

    You know me. I’d love to see something. How ’bout that story you were thinking about serializing. THE ROAD, I think was the working title. You had me read that a while ago.

    Reply
    1. brennancm Post author

      Tempting, whitey. I was also thinking of a story set in the same world as the novel I’m currently working on. I wrote one a while back using secondary/tertiary characters.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

