Returning to Real Life, Reluctantly

Image

The Barlet Administration

I just finished watching the last episode of The West Wing on Netflix. I must have avoided watching the last two episodes for a month. It might even have been longer. I knew once I watched them, it would be all over. I guess I could watch it all over again, but for now, I’d rather not. That last episode left me in a beautifully melancholy state of mind. It was all about one administration ending and another beginning. It serves up the same bittersweet feeling that The Lord of The Rings has at the very end.

Image

I think I’m ready for another adventure

Right now, I don’t feel like doing anything except remembering the show. The best stories will do that to you. You live in that world for one hour a week, for a couple of hours in a theater…or in the case of a great book, for however long it takes you to read it. It’s really hard to leave when it’s over.

Those are the kinds of stories I want to write.

I’ve mentioned 2 story worlds that I had to leave too soon, though there are plenty more. Are there stories – whether they appeared in a book, a movie, or a TV series – that make you feel the same way? If you feel like sharing, I’d love to see some of them in the comments section.

 

2 thoughts on “Returning to Real Life, Reluctantly

    1. brennancm Post author

      Nicola, I’m so glad to hear from a fellow West Wing fan. I came late to the show when it first aired. I think I only saw the final 2 seasons then. It was wonderful to see it all from the beginning.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

